RSS

Post-weekend Poetry 097: Reunion by Ina Schroders-Zeeders

18 Nov

ina 25 april 2012Welcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the ninety-seventh poem in this series. This week’s piece is by Ina Schroders-Zeeders.

Reunion

The person, sitting quietly opposed me
at the wobbly round table
that had carved names in the wood
of those we both remembered well,
had aged more than I could imagine.
After neglecting our friendship,
not much was left of whom I’d searched before.

Where went youth, the smile, the energy?
Still some familiarity was lingering
in eyes and lines, and features one by one
came back to being those that I once knew.
The person had been lost for years in dust,
in fading mist and pretences, in cold denial
and darkest corners, waiting for forgiveness.

There had been no kindness, love,
just hate, regret and shame, but now,
in this September sunlight, see,
a bit of understanding came between us.
We found each other and it was enough.
I recognized the person well
as I could hide no longer from myself. As it was me.

*

I asked Ina what prompted this piece and she said…

To find yourself again is like an encounter in a mist.

**

Thank you, Ina. I love that.

Veritas-Cover-3D-807x1024

Ina is a Dutch novelist and poet. She has written about 700 poems since Autumn 2010. One of them has been published in “The Journal” a British poetry magazine, others have been published in anthologies and on her weblog http://inaweblogisback.wordpress.com. Ina lives on the island of Terschelling.

After the anthology “Veritas” in October 2013, a second anthology by Schroders-Zeeders was published by Winter Goose Publishing.

The new book is called “Amor” 227 poems telling the story of a love. http://www.amazon.com/Amor-Ina-Schroders-Zeeders/dp/0989479269.

You can also read Ina’s poetry on my blog http://poetrywritinggroup.wordpress.com/poems.

***

If you’d like to submit your poem (60 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here or a poem for critique on the Online Poetry Writing Group (link below).

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to this blog on your Kindle / Kindle app via Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com **

Cover montage 2You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel The Serial Dater’s Shopping List, various short story collections and writer’s block workbooks) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post a spotlight or interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do. If there’s anything you’d like to take part in, take a look at Opportunities on this blog.

I welcome items for critique directly (see Editing & Critique) or for posting on the online writing groups listed below:

Morgen’s Online Non-Fiction Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Novel Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Poetry Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Script Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group

We look forward to reading your comments.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 18, 2013 in poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
