RSS

6 responses to “Book review – for readers and writers – no.54: Morgen Bailey reviews In a Word: Murder

  1. Diane

    August 13, 2014 at 1:10 pm

    Thanks for a great review, Morgen. The ‘missing punctuation’ would have bothered me, but it is, unfortunately, becoming the norm. Let’s hope that it was all due to faulty formatting…

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 13, 2014 at 1:12 pm

      Thank you, Diane. I would have hoped so too but I think sadly not due to it being inconsistent but sometimes it’s easily missed. It’s a shame though because it does detract from an otherwise super collection.

       
  2. Books & Art - Spirit & Soul - Lesley Fletcher

    August 14, 2014 at 3:58 pm

    I read the hard copy version and there was no issues with the formatting. As far as rogue punctuation (hahaha), I never noticed. I did however find one error and I will not tell! Morgen, the cover is by moi!😉

     
  3. Books & Art - Spirit & Soul - Lesley Fletcher

    August 14, 2014 at 3:59 pm

    I did (comma) however …
    Just messing with you.

     
  4. Jane Risdon

    August 14, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    Thanks so much for the review Morgen – much appreciated. I think formatting must have been at fault as the hard copy I have is fine. We wrote in isolation so cannot explain the Brad thing. As for ‘well’ starting sentences – I don’t know about you but I notice people start sentences with it all the time. I notice it on News items when the desk asks the roving reporter to file their report and the reporter usually starts with ‘Well, Huw/Natasha……’ I just try to write dialogue which is as real as I think it is. But note taken. As for punctuation mistakes; I hold my hand up….I am most likely to blame. And there are lots of blonde guys in LA (or Blond depending which side of the pond you are). Really appreciate your review. The book is selling well and making money for the Hospice and that makes me happy too. 🙂 How is everything going?

     
  5. Margot Kinberg

    August 14, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    Thank you, Morgen, for your thoughtful and candid review. I’m very glad to hear that more of the collection worked than didn’t for you.

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
