RSS

7 responses to “Flash Fiction Friday 144: 6-word stories

  1. Mishka Jenkins

    August 29, 2014 at 2:54 pm

    What clever pieces and very talented to create such great stories in 6 words! 😀

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 29, 2014 at 5:16 pm

      Thank you, Mishka. I’ve passed on your comment and look forward to hosting some of yours. 🙂

       
  2. Jane Risdon

    August 29, 2014 at 4:43 pm

    Clever and fun as usual…loved them all. Thanks.

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 29, 2014 at 5:14 pm

      Thank you, Jane. I’ve passed on your comment. It would be great if you featured one day. 🙂

       
      • Jane Risdon

        August 29, 2014 at 5:55 pm

        It would be but it will have to be after my operation next week Morgen. I am not sure when I will be able to use my left arm again. Been told 3-6 months with some limited use after the 3 months. So I am wondering how on earth I can write and type one handed. I need to be able too…got so much to do. The past 20 months have been hell trying to use my left arm, that is why I have slowed down, not written as much or got WIP completed yet. Too painful and I can only go in fits and starts. But do please ask me again – perhaps before the end of November – when I will know how I am progressing. I am determined not to end up like this for 6 months! 🙂

         
  3. Mark K

    August 30, 2014 at 12:31 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear of your problem, Jane. I had no idea. But anyone with a bit of life experience can see that you have the right attitude and determinate to get back on top, which is the important thing!

    About seven years ago I snapped my ankle; literally in half, falling twelve feet off a ladder. As he inspected my X-ray, my conversation with the consultant surgeon went something like this.

    “Mr K, looking at this, I think you’re lucky to be alive.”
    “Have you met my wife, Doc?”
    He playfully belted me with his clip-board. “You’re fortunate you can still walk.”
    “I can’t walk; I can only hop at the moment, that’s why I’m here… Seriously though, when can I play football again?”
    He looked deep into my eyes (the way an adult does when they explain to their kid, who had just crash landed on their bed after jumping from the top of the wardrobe, that Superman is the ONLY person able to fly.) “I’m afraid you won’t be touching a football again for at least a year. And even then…” he shrugged, “there are no guarantees.”
    “I’ll be back playing in three months!”
    “Mark,” he lost his smile, “you don’t seem to realise what a bad break this is? You are going to need a metal plate to hold your fibula together and two one and half inch screws to keep the other side of your ankle in place. You do know that they will be there for the rest of your life?”
    Once I’d taken my thumb out of my mouth I replied, “I honestly don’t mean to sound arrogant. I respect your opinion and your experience, but my mind is set, I WILL be back in three months.”

    Four months later I made a triumphant return to the pitch. The fact we lost seven nil is neither here nor there! I started off slow and here I am years later still hitting the turf thrice a week.

    The point being, Jane, is that you have the strength to get on top of this. And I know I speak for everyone, not least Morgen, when I say that I wish you all the best and look forward to seeing you featuring sooner rather than later.

    Best wishes, Mark K

     
  4. Jane Risdon

    September 1, 2014 at 5:22 pm

    Mark, thanks so much for your kind words. I know how you feel. I wrote about my plight earlier in the year (January), when my operation was supposed to go ahead but was stopped due to the instability of my shoulder. My surgeon is a professor who is also a colonel in the army and his impression of my injuries and me, upon seeing the X-Rays, was that I was either a biker – thought my Harley was parked outside – or I’d been in Afghanistan and fallen under fire. He’d never see injuries on someone other than a rider of about 20 or a young soldier who’d fallen with all his kit on his back. I smashed my shoulder and collar bone awkwardly and so I am having pins and plates and the arm is being yanked back into place so it doesn’t hang weirdly. Possible nerve damage is possible during the operation so I am hoping it all goes well. I cannot spare the time to be out of action for 3 weeks let alone 3-6 months, but I have to also realise that I can cause worse problems (at my age) by trying to do too much too soon. Spent the last 20 months with limited use and in constant pain so anything has got to be better. I do hope your recovery is complete and that there is no lasting damage. I have not contributed as much this year (to Morgen’s pages) as in previous years and my output has suffered but I hope to be back in the saddle (Harley outside waiting) as soon as is practical. Thanks so much for your kind reply and words of encouragement. Much appreciated. 🙂

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
