RSS

Post-weekend Poetry 124: You Can’t Buy Me, O.C.D. by Joanne Hayle

03 Nov

Welcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the one hundred and twenty-fourth poem in this series. This week’s piece is by Joanne Hayle.

You Can’t Buy Me, O.C.D.

Unavailable on the high street

Or the finest of boutiques

O.C.D. shares my body

It’s not a perfect fit

It chooses to adorn me

Whatever my price tag or tastes

I lather soap to fend off fears

Hands and arms are dusted, dusty

One day I was asked if I’d been burned

It was twenty-four degrees C,

My arms aired and seen

Caused surprise or was it chagrin?

Please do not feel sorry for me

I am getting stronger, wiser

The negative morphs into a photo

And I can see me peeking brave

The must have clothes

Haircut and age defying cream

Become a folly for others

Me? I strive to repurchase me

If you feel that you bum’s too big

That hair dye is to be liberally applied

If you wish for surgery and chemical peels

I cannot judge, you’re free to decide

I say though, when fashions have passed

When wrinkles have graced your face

True beauty that can’t be bought

Is truth wrestled from O.C.D’s grasp.

*

I asked Joanne what prompted this piece and she said…

Thankfully my OCD/PTSD has become a lot better lately but this poem represents how these illnesses do not discriminate, but then, which illness does?

There are still a lot of misconceptions about faulty brain cells, I hope my poetry can help reach people and inform them.

Basic rule: Keep on keeping on!

**

Absolutely. Thank you, Joanne.

Born in 1978 and raised in the south of England, Joanne has been imaginative since childhood and started writing at a young age.

She found out that winning a poetry competition at ten years old was the best day of her life to that moment!

Now in her late thirties, she has left full time office employment to fulfil her dream of writing and publishing poetry and fiction for adults and children.

She has a blog (www.joannehayle.wordpress.com) about her writing, OCD and PTSD, which has received some lovely supportive comments and an author website joannehayle.co.uk is due to go live late summer 2014.

Curious CoverHer books are available on Amazon, and some of her children’s stories can be found on www.childrens-stories.net. Her recent short stories are downloadable from http://alfiedog.com/products-page/joanne-hayle. A number of her poems have been accepted for publication in anthologies by Bonacia Ltd. She would love you to read and enjoy her work.

Apart from her blog, http://joannehayle.wordpress.com, you can find her writing at http://www.amazon.co.uk and http://www.amazon.com.

***

If you’d like to submit your poem (60 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here or a poem for critique on the Online Poetry Writing Group (link below).

Related articles:

Morgen Bailey Cover montage 2

You can subscribe to this blog on your Kindle / Kindle app via Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything.

You can contact me and find me on the internet, view my books (including my debut novel The Serial Dater’s Shopping Listvarious short story collections and writer’s block workbooks) and If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating. Thank you.

For anyone looking for an editor, do take a look at Editing and Critique.

If you would like to send me a book review of another author’s books or like your book reviewed (short stories, contemporary crime / women’s novels or writing guides), see book-reviews for the guidelines. Other options listed on opportunities-on-this-blog. And I post writing exercises every weekday on four online writing groups.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 3, 2014 in poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Post-weekend Poetry 124: You Can’t Buy Me, O.C.D. by Joanne Hayle

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
