RSS

A Story a Day May: May 16th – Over (part one)

09 Jan

I originally posted this ditty back in May 2011. It’s one of my favourites and shows what you can do with the same word… and thought it worth a second airing. It’s the first story from my 2011 Story a Day May collection (see https://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/books-mine/short-stories/story-a-day-may)…

MorgEn Bailey - Creative Writing Guru

Today’s prompt is ‘over’ to use as we wish. I woke up full of cold (hinted at by a sore throat  Thursday morning) so was hoping for something simple. I wasn’t sure whether this was or not but we use one-word prompts in our Monday night workshops so I took the dog out for a walk and started coming up with ideas… resulting in this:

“Over,” I say and he crosses the road. Overnight, after oversleeping, I’ve become overcome with cold. I’m usually overrun with chores but I’m taking it easy today. A contrast to yesterday, blitzing my overgrown garden; now my pavement is overcrowded with overfilled brown wheelie bins and strong green gardening bags.

I look in the dictionary and have never heard of ‘overhand’. Wikipedia tells me it’s a boxing term and a knot, and I’m not a violent person but right now I’m angry. My neighbour’s extension…

View original post 507 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 9, 2015 in writing

 

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
