RSS

Post-weekend Poetry 126: Standing at the very edge by Abhishek Shukla

12 Jan

Abhishek ShuklaWelcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the one hundred and twenty-sixth poem in this series. This week’s piece is by Abhishek Shukla.

Standing at the very edge

Standing at the very edge

I sense the essence of life.

 

With the eye of determination

When I look up at the endless sky,

I realize it is not that high.

 

With the courage of ideals,

I hear the waves of the ocean

I realize it can’t even move,

anchor of my strength.

 

When I start my journey with speed of will,

I go unstoppable, tearing the Storm.

 

When I see the hurdles in my way

I laugh at diminutive thorns

Which think they will make me slow

From reaching the other end

Where success awaits me as beautiful as a red rose

 

And when I see into myself

I realize an untapped potential

Which when nurtured with hard work under the light of my dream

Will give me the success and indeed the happiness that I need

 

So I stand at the very edge,

To sense the essence of life.

*

I asked Abhishek what prompted this piece and he said…

Early in the morning I woke up full of determination to fight all the challenges and stand against all the problems and gaze into them and then just beat the shit out of them till I get the sweet sweat of success. With this song of the determination in my mind.

**

Thank you, Abhishek. You can read more of Abhishek’s poetry at http://itstheheartstalk.blogspot.in.

***

If you’d like to submit your poem (60 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here or a poem for critique on the Online Poetry Writing Group (link below).

Related articles:

Morgen Bailey Cover montage 2

You can subscribe to this blog on your Kindle / Kindle app via Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything.

You can contact me and find me on the internet, view my books (including my debut novel The Serial Dater’s Shopping Listvarious short story collections and writer’s block workbooks) and If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating. Thank you.

For anyone looking for an editor, do take a look at Editing and Critique.

If you would like to send me a book review of another author’s books or like your book reviewed (short stories, contemporary crime / women’s novels or writing guides), see book-reviews for the guidelines. Other options listed on opportunities-on-this-blog. And I post writing exercises every weekday on four online writing groups.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 12, 2015 in poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
