RSS

10 Books to read in Febuary 2015

06 Feb

An interesting list. Only one book I recognised (not read but didn’t rate the film).

Words And Peace

I did manage to read 10 books in January, so let’s try that again in February:

  • I plan to read only a chapter a day of the first two
  • Actually already read #3 and #4 since 2/1! and thoroughly enjoying #5
  • The last 2 are audio – I am maybe 75% done with Gone Girl.
    So excited the Modiano was available for review on Audiobook Jukebox, though it’s kind of a shame for me to read Modiano in translation!! I’m curious actually to see if the translation manages to convey his characteristic ambiance.

Click on the covers to know more:

The Fictional 100The ShowingsAoleon 2

Cognac Conspiracies coverThe Love Song of Miss Queenieclose-to-destiny-cover-3D

The 4th rule of tenEventideGone Girl

Suspended Sentences

HAVE YOU READ
OR ARE YOU PLANNING TO READ
ANY OF THESE?
WHAT ARE YOUR READING PLANS FOR FEBRUARY?

View original post

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2015 in writing

 

8 responses to “10 Books to read in Febuary 2015

  1. Christopher Farley

    February 6, 2015 at 8:12 am

    Morgen, you can get through 10 in a month? I’m lucky if I manage 2…

     
    • WordsAndPeace

      February 6, 2015 at 2:44 pm

      Yes, I usually read between 8-10 a month, being an audiobook usually. Secret: no TV, so I read about 5 hours or more every night after work. please come visit the cool titles I have recently reviewed, from nonfiction to historical fiction to thrillers: http://wordsandpeace.com

       
  2. juliathorley

    February 6, 2015 at 10:27 am

    I’ve heard of Gone Girl and got Queenie Hennessey on my ‘to read’ pile, but that’s about it. And yes, Christopher, 10 a month is astonishing. Morgen, when do you sleep?

     
    • WordsAndPeace

      February 6, 2015 at 2:46 pm

      as you can see, this is not Morgen, he reblogged my post, this is Emma at Words And Peace. Look at my reply to Christopher to discover my secret. I loved so much The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry that I had to read Queenie’s Perspective. I’m about 35% in it. Gorgeous, same style than HF. Loving it

       
  3. flashpoetguy

    February 6, 2015 at 1:15 pm

    I used to read a lot, but poor eyesight, marketing my books and those of friends, as well as writing stories and poems for publication keep me very busy. Unlike my wife who can read an entire book in a day or two, I have about ten books I read at a time but only a few pages of each when I have some time to spare. On your list I’ve only read GONE GIRL.

     
    • WordsAndPeace

      February 6, 2015 at 2:52 pm

      for poor eyesight, you should try audiobooks. Narrators are usually incredibly good. I’m discovering that mysteries and thrillers are particularly a good fit for this format, I’m actually listening to Gone Girl as you can see. I listen to audiobooks while cleaning the house, doing the dishes, ironing, and also painting (I paint on rocks and just got a huge commission of 90 rocks, so that was good for audiobook time!).
      But audiobooks are also great for nonfiction, I highly recommend The Innovators by Walter Isaacson on the history of computers. If you are curious about my 4 audiobooks favorites of 2014, in 4 different genres, you can come this way: http://wordsandpeace.com/2015/01/01/year-of-reading-2014-part-1/.

      By the way, I also do a lot of book marketing, with my virtual book tour company http://francebooktours.com . As the name implies, I market only books set in France, or about France, but in any and all genres. We have some famous authors lined up. Fascinating job

       
  4. WordsAndPeace

    February 6, 2015 at 2:54 pm

    Thanks Morgen for reblogging. Funny though that your 3 commenters missed the 1st line about reblogging. Apparently they are not familiar with the practice.
    As I have lots of books to review on schedule, I thought I might as well share my planning and decided for 2015 to announce what books I was going to read each month.
    So, what are YOU reading right now?

     
    • morgenbailey

      February 6, 2015 at 6:38 pm

      You’re very welcome, Emma. I love being able to reblog on WordPress. I teach blogging (in Northamptonshire, England) and concentrate on WP for its flexibility. I review a book a week (Wednesdays, sometimes Mondays) for my blog listen to audiobooks more than paper / eBooks because I can be doing other things, like walking my dog. I’ve just (an hour ago) finished (struggling through) Ian Banks’ The Crow Road. It got going in chapter 15 (of 18!). I have the DVD version of it too so will watch that before I post the review so I can include that. Probably not for a week or two as I’m swamped with client editing at the moment (which is not a bad thing!). Thank you for stopping by and leaving your comments, and your rocks sound fascinating. My mum used to do that. By the way, I’ve added you to this blog’s https://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/links/other-writing-related-wordpress-blogs page.🙂

       

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
