RSS

Writing the Sagging Middle of a Novel

10 Feb

Last night, in my novel writing class, we covered pacing and avoiding a saggy middle (in my case, not sitting at my desk eating rubbish would help!). Here is fellow WordPressian Julaina Kleist-Corwin’s experience on the latter…

Julaina Kleist-Corwin

sagging middle with book shelf sag

In my previous novels (three sitting in the drawer, finished but unpublished), I didn’t worry about sagging middles. Aware of that syndrome from hearing other writers talk about it, I amped up the drama in the middle. No problem.

In Norman in the Painting, my present WIP, I stopped writing the novel at the point where the middle begins, unbeknownst to me. I thought three weeks off would be a break I could afford. The Tri-Valley Branch of the California Writers Club had a Winterfest in which arts and crafts were submitted and members could write Ekphrasis prose or poetry for each other’s submissions. I started in October, enjoyed the activity, and completed 23, which took me until December. I convinced myself I had been writing those three months and the experience was worth it so no need to feel guilty about letting my protagonist sit for so long. In…

View original post 155 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 10, 2015 in writing

 

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
