RSS

Brilliances

09 Mar

I normally bring you guest poetry on a Monday but I don’t have any in hand (see https://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/post-weekend-poetry for my guidelines) so I went on WordPress.com where you can see other bloggers’ posts (by various topics) and this poem was the ‘freshest’ one in. Other than needing a space between ‘a poetI hoped’, I really liked it. The blogger behind tangerinedream12 blog posted this “for my friends” – maybe he / she will make new ones by me sharing this.🙂

for my friends....

The yellow moon

orphaned begins her conversations

without nightfall.

Nordic gods hammer me

before sleep.

Lapland stories

of women hunters in the belly of

the whale cries to my soul.

Days on the move travelling

sometimes drunk and sometimes

illuminated like some mad Russian

poet looking for his mother.

Everything is gone;

orphaned I arrived with a belly

full of vodka and a million stories

not told.

I had visions of Rimbaud

under the northern lights,

a poetI hoped to be.

copyright 2014 black dog press.

from an anthology on the poet

Arthur Rimbaud published by

Blind Dog Press

View original post

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2015 in writing

 

7 responses to “Brilliances

  1. tangerinedream12

    March 9, 2015 at 8:38 am

    thanks for this cheers

     
  2. morgenbailey

    March 9, 2015 at 8:52 am

    Absolutely. Other than the Post-Weekend (Monday) Poetry and Flash Fiction Friday slots, the focus is on the writer rather than their content (although they are opportunities to include extracts on almost every option). Hopefully the guidelines are clear but let me know if not.

     
  3. Samantha Wilcox

    March 9, 2015 at 5:01 pm

    Great poem🙂

     
  4. tangerinedream12

    March 10, 2015 at 1:27 am

    thanks

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
