RSS

9 responses to “Guest post: Escaping the Comfort Zone by Velda Brotherton

  1. Martin Peltz

    June 27, 2015 at 10:58 am

    Reblogged this on sweatingthewriting.

     
  2. Pagadan

    June 27, 2015 at 8:17 pm

    Fascinating writing background! I enjoyed this writer’s writing experience. And I’m glad I got Detour Trail (western with woman protagonist) published when I did!

     
    • morgenbailey

      June 28, 2015 at 11:54 am

      Thank you, Joy (and Martin… and of course Velda). Many of us think that westerns have peaks and troughs but western writers I know say it never goes away, like vampires. It is a very popular genre, as is horror etc. There will always be a market for everything imo.

       
  3. Hywela Lyn

    June 28, 2015 at 7:04 pm

    Really interesting post, Velda. Funnily enough I write Science Fiction romance although my first love was Westerns. (I’ve read most of the classical western authors and actually ride my two horses Western style as well as having belonged to a western re-enactment group, so I’m pretty well immersed in the genre.) However, I found it almost impossible to get an agent or publisher in the UK and since I’d developed an interest in Science Fiction I started to write SF romance (after all there are similarities, brave heros and heroines facing the unknown, journeying to distant places and facing hostile elements and natives, but with starships instead of horses.) I’m now published by a small, but highly regarded press, ironically, in the U.S. and am seriously thinking of having another stab at westerns, after the third of my SF romance trilogy is published. I didn’t start out to write romance either, but soon realised that everything I write turns into a love story, so I just decided to ‘go with the flow’, and as you say ‘ write what I want to write’!

     
    • veldabrotherton

      June 29, 2015 at 4:24 am

      Hywela, I enjoyed reading your publishing success story. If you want to get published with western romances, you might try Wild Rose Press. They have published three of mine and I think will take the next one to finish out a series. They are also in the US and published other genres as well. Thanks for reading my blog and commenting.

       
      • Hywela Lyn

        June 29, 2015 at 2:22 pm

        Thanks Velda – actually my SF romances are with The Wild Rose Press!🙂 So I’ll probably stick with them if I go back to Westerns, too. I’m deep in edits for my third in the SF trilogy at the moment, so I’m not very active on the loop, but I’ll look out for you there!

         
  4. morgenbailey

    June 30, 2015 at 12:46 pm

    Hello Hywela. It was great to meet you on Saturday. If you’d like to take part in this blog, do take a look at https://morgenbailey.wordpress.com/submission-information/opportunities-on-this-blog.

     
    • Hywela Lyn

      June 30, 2015 at 1:25 pm

      Thanks Morgen – it was good to meet you again too. I would love to take you up on your kind offer as soon as I’ve got through my current edits!

       

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
