RSS

The Craft: How to Know You’re Ready to Write Your Story

05 Dec

An interesting checklist that could also be used after writing the story…

A Writer Begins by Darius Jones

[This is part of a continuing series on the art of writing fiction.]

Has it been 2 weeks since my last post? Man, time flies. Pebble Ready

So…A couple of posts ago, I talked about rejection. This time, let’s talk emotion. Let’s talk where I’m at in my writing right now. No retrospectives, no looks at other writers or other writers’ work. I just want to answer: Where am I at? And where’s my writing at?

I think I’ve made progress in one small area: story selection. I’ve written about this before too. You know, the difficulty of discerning which story to work on next. It’s not easy. Here are just some of the considerations:

  • Is the underlying idea any good?
  • Do the characters seem like living, flawed people, not…(ahem)…characters?
  • Is the story idea mature? That is, is it fleshed out enough to carry the whole story?
  • Are you…

View original post 1,002 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 5, 2015 in writing

 

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
