RSS

Post-weekend Poetry: Writing a Pantoum

15 Feb

Welcome to Post-weekend Poetry. Last week, I posted one of my sonnets in the third of a short series (following on from fibonacci and haikus), introducing you to the shorter forms of poetry. You can read the post on Haiku here, Fibonacci here, and Sonnet here. Today, we are looking at sonnets. Wikipedia explains them as the following…

The pantoum is a poetic form derived from the pantun, a Malay verse form: specifically from the pantun berkait, a series of interwoven quatrains. The pantoum is a form of poetry similar to a villanelle in that there are repeating lines throughout the poem. It is composed of a series of quatrains; the second and fourth lines of each stanza are repeated as the first and third lines of the next. This pattern continues for any number of stanzas, except for the final stanza, which differs in the repeating pattern. The first and third lines of the last stanza are the second and fourth of the penultimate; the first line of the poem is the last line of the final stanza, and the third line of the first stanza is the second of the final. Ideally, the meaning of lines shifts when they are repeated although the words remain exactly the same: this can be done by shifting punctuation, punning, or simply recontextualizing.

*

Writing a pantoum

5pm clockI thought it was going to be quite tough

but then it proved me wrong for

a little while at least, I thought

“this is going to be some fun”

 

but then it proved me wrong for

it grew increasingly tricky

“this is going to be some fun,

my arse”…as the hours sped by

 

it grew increasingly tricky

my mind grew numb just like…

my arse…as the hours sped by

my eyes strained staring at the screen

 

my mind grew numb just like…

the poem, it finally took shape

my eyes strained staring at the screen

who invented this form of ode?

 

the poem, it finally took shape

a little while at least, I thought

“who invented this form of ode?”

I thought it was going to be quite tough

***

If you’d like to submit your poem (60 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here or a poem for critique on the Online Poetry Writing Group (link below).

Related articles:

*** Breaking news! My online creative writing courses are currently just £1 or $1-2 each! ***

You can subscribe to this blog on your Kindle / Kindle app via Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com. Alternatively, you can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything (see right-hand vertical menu).

You can contact me and find me on the internet, view my books (including my debut novel The Serial Dater’s Shopping Listvarious short story collections and writer’s block workbooks) and If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating. Thank you.

Morgen Bailey Cover montage 2I now run online courses – details on Courses – and for anyone looking for an editor, do take a look at Editing and Critique.

If you would like to send me a book review of another author’s books or like your book reviewed (short stories, contemporary crime / women’s novels or writing guides), see book-reviews for the guidelines. Other options listed on opportunities-on-this-blog. And I post writing exercises every weekday on four online writing groups.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 15, 2016 in poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
