RSS

Crimefest 2016 – observations and highlights

30 May

One of the major crime events of the year and I’ve not got it yet… maybe 2017. Nope, definitely 2017. For sure. Absolutely.

Vicky Newham

I got two wonderful reflection opportunities over the weekend: one thanks to a banshee-awful, cackling hen group on my Travelodge corridor on Saturday night, the other on the drive home from Bristol yesterday. Each year I feel different about aspects of my own writing and the Crimefest event varies too, depending on who’s there, but one constant is the friendliness and inclusivity of everyone involved.

Rather than a review of panels, I thought I’d share my observations and highlights.

It hasn’t all been done

In such a huge, competitive market, and with a lot of similar books, it’s wonderful to see fresh ideas, settings and concepts swim to the surface of the publishing pond. Not only does this broaden the scope of the genre, it invigorates it and introduces new sub-genres. Just as society is constantly changing, so is fiction. To me, anyone who says it’s all been done, and…

View original post 905 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 30, 2016 in writing

 

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
