RSS

Crime Writer Nell Peters is my guest author today: discussing research and the suspension of disbelief.

10 Aug

Lots to like (and learn) from this article from Nell Peters courtesy of the fab Jane Risdon. Never good when you’re will for ‘The End’… Nell has more patience than many. And yes, never include EVERYTHING you research and what you do include has to be 100% believable if it’s not 100% true. Let your reader pick one fault and they won’t trust you thereafter. And I didn’t know Accent published crime… mmm, tempting to polish my dusty tomes.🙂

Jane Risdon

Crime Writer Nell PetersCrime Writer Nell Peters

Ann Polhll Nell Peter book blurb 4

Today I am very pleased to welcome fellow Accent Press Author and Facebook pal, 

Crime writer

Nell Peters.

Hi everybody! I’m very happy to be Jane’s guest today – she writes such informative and interesting blogs (with great pics!), I will have to mind my Ps and Qs and make sure I don’t send everyone running for the nearest stash of alcohol and or cake.

I thought I’d combine and discuss two already closely associated elements of writing here – research and whether fiction should always be 100% factual, as it were.

It was last autumn that I really started to mull over the latter in some depth, when I was a reader for the Romantic Novelist Awards, presented in March 2016. Though I don’t tend to read romance per se, that’s not because I feel it doesn’t warrant my attention – it’s simply that I…

View original post 1,628 more words

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 10, 2016 in writing

 

3 responses to “Crime Writer Nell Peters is my guest author today: discussing research and the suspension of disbelief.

  1. nellpeters

    August 10, 2016 at 10:41 pm

    Thank you, Morgen!

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 10, 2016 at 10:56 pm

      You’re very welcome, Nell. A great post.

       
  2. Jane Risdon

    August 11, 2016 at 9:06 am

    Morgen, thanks so much for reblogging, appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the article.🙂

     

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
