RSS

A Short Analysis of Edward Thomas’s ‘Rain’

10 Sep
A Short Analysis of Edward Thomas’s ‘Rain’

I don’t include poetry on this blog as often as I should so here is a treat…

Interesting Literature

A reading of a classic war poem

Edward Thomas’s poem ‘Rain’ was written in 1916, while Thomas was fighting in the trenches. What follows is the poem, followed by a brief analysis of some of its language, motifs, and images.

Rain, midnight rain, nothing but the wild rain
On this bleak hut, and solitude, and me
Remembering again that I shall die
And neither hear the rain nor give it thanks
For washing me cleaner than I have been
Since I was born into this solitude.
Blessed are the dead that the rain rains upon:

View original post 622 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 10, 2016 in writing

 

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
