In which I think about Theme

28 Sep

An oldie but a goodie… on the topic of themes (no, not how a blog looks but how we categorise our novels).

Alison May

Yesterday I was reminded, via a twitter conversation with the very awesome Joanna Cannon, of an exercise from a Julie Cohen writing course Joanna and I attended years ago. The exercise was simply this: ‘Tell me what your novel is about in one word.’ To which the response is inevitably, ‘Well, er, there’s sort of this woman.. and she meets this… well actually, no, but sort of and then….’ And which point Julie makes her special displeased face and repeats, ‘In one word.’ And the student goes, ‘Errrr…’ which is at least one word, but isn’t terribly descriptive of what the book is about.

But it’s a lesson that’s stayed with me. I still try to think about what the book I’m working on is about IN ONE WORD, and I generally manage to work it out. The Christmas Kissesseries are all about Identity in one way or another.

View original post 529 more words

Leave a comment

Posted by on September 28, 2016 in writing


We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

