RSS

Why the Reader Put That Book Down

17 Dec

Fantastic advice for writers new and seasoned…

Kristen Lamb's Blog

screen-shot-2016-12-16-at-12-36-37-pm

I do a ridiculous amount of reading because it is part of my job as a writer. My job in particular because I blog about craft. I read all genres and go through anywhere from 2-4 books a week. Audible will go bankrupt if I’m ever hit by an ice cream truck.

This said, I think I’m in a fairly good position to guide you guys on pitfalls to avoid from a reader’s POV. These are the mistakes that will have me railing at the heavens and throwing a book across the room…followed by depression because I can never get those wasted hours back.

I just returned a book so bad that I cannot believe I read as much of it as I did. It is a prime example why reviews can be misleading, even good ones.

I finally had to return it because there was just not enough blood…

View original post 1,351 more words

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 17, 2016 in writing

 

6 responses to “Why the Reader Put That Book Down

  1. Pagadan

    December 17, 2016 at 10:04 pm

    I do get annoyed when the writer didn’t care enough to get it right.

     
    • morgenbailey

      December 19, 2016 at 12:50 pm

      Me too, Joy. As soon as I became a writer, I noticed far more than a reader and that was bad enough! 🙂

       
  2. Micki Peluso

    December 18, 2016 at 3:25 am

    I have to get into audible. Too many books to read and not enough time. Btw, I appreciate your story prompts. Almost all my short fiction stories come from prompts. Have a great Holiday!

     
    • morgenbailey

      December 19, 2016 at 12:52 pm

      You’re so welcome, Micki. Audiobooks are my favourite format but I listen to books via my Kindle Fire’s text-to-speech so I know I’ll never run out of books to listen to… and be able to multi-task is great. 🙂

       
  3. Rosemary Reader and Writer

    December 19, 2016 at 11:23 am

    Thank you for this reblog, Morgen. I also have reblogged it and started following Kirsten Lamb.

     
    • morgenbailey

      December 19, 2016 at 12:49 pm

      You’re very welcome, Rosemary. Kirsten’s a great blogger.

       

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
