RSS
Gallery

Tuesday Talk chats to writer Gilli Allan about her writing pathway, celebrity diners and what she’s currently working on…

16 Mar

Have a cuppa with Gilli Allan while she talks about her writing…

JO LAMBERT - A WRITER'S JOURNEY

meGood morning Gilli and welcome.

Hello Jo, thank you so much for inviting me over for a chat on a Tuesday.

Can I begin by asking what you did before you became a novelist?

At that precise moment, I was ironing. Sounds like I’m being facetious, but I’m not … or only a bit.
From an arty family, I was told from my earliest memory that I was good at art. My father worked in advertising as a graphic designer, so all my life I knew that ‘being an artist’ did not necessarily mean beret, palette, and canvas, or starving in a garret. Earning a living as a commercial artist was a perfectly possible and pragmatic proposition. My career was as an illustrator in advertising. In those days – and I’m sure the febrile atmosphere hasn’t changed even if the technology has – advertising was a very high pressure industry. I…

View original post 2,138 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 16, 2017 in writing

 

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
