RSS

2 responses to “Results of Morgen’s 100-word competition: June 2017

  1. Andy

    July 12, 2017 at 9:01 am

    This may come across as a tad insensitive, but it seems to me that a lot of winning entries this year have been somewhat on the twee side. To my mind taking an existing story and ‘twisting’ it into something different is not showing originality, merely a cleverness with words and ideas.

    To my thinking a contributor who has put a great deal of thought and effort into an ORIGINAL story should gain greater kudos and be given greater consideration for their work than someone who has taken something that already existed and offered an alternate version for consideration.

     
    • morgenbailey

      July 12, 2017 at 4:20 pm

      As I say in my introduction, I choose the stories depending upon my reaction to them. Anyone who knows me knows that I’m far from twee. I can only work with the stories submitted and in most months there could well have been more original choices but they just didn’t work… or were under / over the word count. It’s only one person’s (my) opinion so we’re not all going to agree.

       

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

 
