RSS

Author Archives: morgenbailey

About morgenbailey

Writer of 'dark and light' (crime / chick-lit) fiction since 2005, WordPress blogger since March 2011, freelance editor (£2-£7/K) since March 2012, and creative writing tutor since January 2014. Also judge for H.E. Bates, and BeaconFlash / BBC Radio 2 / Althorp Lit Fest 500-word comps.

Self Publishing Part 8: The Wisdom of Fonts – 10 book typefaces that can’t go wrong

Self Publishing Part 8: The Wisdom of Fonts – 10 book typefaces that can’t go wrong

Interesting stuff…

Fiction et al

Typographic AnatomyClick to enlargeWhat makes up a Typeface?
Sourced from the Bold & Justified Infographic at www.fontfeed.com

A typical book has between 25,000 and 100,000 words. They are the feature of the book that readers interact with the most, spending hours poring over them. But when was the last time you read a book and thought “Wow, that plot twist at the end blew me away and the font choice of 11pt Baskerville Old Face was a masterful touch!”

The fact is that, despite all the close scrutiny that the body text of a book receives, most readers fail to notice the careful design choices made by the publisher at all—and that is how it should be. Imagine listening to a long speech by a man who constantly waves one hand around wildly as he talks, or a woman who speaks so quietly you have to strain to hear…

View original post 1,414 more words

Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 21, 2017 in writing

 

Today’s poetry and story exercises: 21st November 2017

*** If you enjoy these prompts, or are looking to improve your writing or submit a manuscript, do take a look at my seven online courses… five currently half price and and two FREE! (coupon codes on the online courses page) and / or my Writer’s Block Workbooks… my best-selling eBooks – now available in eBook and paperback format!

Every weekday I post a set of poetry prompts on poetrywritinggroup.wordpress.com and a set of story prompts on the scriptnovel and short story blogs. As you’ll see by the heading numbers, you may have missed a few but the links are listed on the relevant group’s Exercises page so you can always find them there. So here are your poetry and short story exercises…

Poetry Writing Exercises 1264: Tuesday 21st November

Here are your four poetry exercises for today. If you enjoy these prompts, do take a look at my online courses… six are currently half price (when using the coupon codes on my main blog’s online courses page) and another is FREE!

Time yourself for 15 minutes per exercise, having a break in between each one or move on to the next.  When you’ve finished, do pop over to this blog’s Facebook Group and let everyone know how you got on.

Below are the four – you can do them in any order.

  1. Keywords: infuriating, time, industrious, ass, unlikely
  2. Random: an age-old debate
  3. Picture: what does this inspire?
  4. Tuesday Title: Huge Hugo

Have fun, and if you would like to, do paste your writing in the comment boxes below so we can see how you got on! Remember though that it counts as being published so don’t post anything that you would want to submit elsewhere (where they require unpublished material).

See below for explanations of the prompts, they do vary…

  • Sentence starts = what it says on the tin. You can use it at the beginning of the poem or include it later, and being poetry it doesn’t have to be exact – just be inspired by it.
  • Keywords = the words have to appear in the poem but can be in any order and can be lengthened (e.g. clap to clapping).
  • Single-word prompt = sometimes all it takes is one word to spawn an idea. Sometimes it easy, sometimes hard but invariably fun.
  • Mixed bag = an object, a location, a colour.
  • Picture prompts = nothing other than a picture. What does it conjure up?
  • Title = The title for your piece.
  • Haiku poem= 5 syllables, 7 syllables, 5 syllables
  • Random = whatever takes my fancy!

Story Writing Exercises 1268: Tuesday 21st Nov

Here are your four story exercises for today. If you enjoy these prompts (or are looking to improve your writing or submit a manuscript), do take a look at my online courses… five are currently half price and the other two are FREE (when using coupon codes)!

Read the rest of this entry »

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 21, 2017 in ideas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Blog Tour – Lay Me to Rest by E.A. Clark Rachel’s Random Reads

Ah… another beloved blog tour.

Rachel Dove - Author

Delighted to have a fellow HQ author on the blog today!

Lay Me To Rest Tour Schedule[2653].jpgLay Me To Rest
Some secrets never stay buried for long…
Devastated by the death of her husband, Annie Philips is shocked to discover she is pregnant with his unborn child. Hoping for a fresh start, she travels to a remote stone cottage in Anglesey, amidst the white-capped mountains of North Wales.
She settles in quickly, helped by her mysterious new neighbour, Peter. But everything changes when Annie discovers a small wooden box, inlaid with brass and mother-of-pearl. A box she was never supposed to find…
Annie soon realises that she isn’t alone in the cottage. And now she’s trapped. Can she escape the nightmare that she has awoken, or will the dark forces surrounding the house claim her life – and that of her baby?
A gripping thriller from E. A. Clark, perfect for fans of Kerri Wilkinson…

View original post 282 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 21, 2017 in writing

 

The 365-day Writer’s Block Workbook Volume 2 is free today!

The second volume of this writer’s guide series – my best selling series – is free today, Tuesday 21st November!

Packed with 1,000 sets of keywords, spread three a day for a year, this volume also has a tip at the end of each week.

You can download the eBook for free (today only) via http://mybook.to/365WBWBVol2 (which links to the Amazon store in your country).

The first week, as an example, is below…

Read the rest of this entry »

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today’s poetry and story exercises: 20th November 2017

*** If you enjoy these prompts, or are looking to improve your writing or submit a manuscript, do take a look at my seven online courses… five currently half price and and two FREE! (coupon codes on the online courses page) and / or my Writer’s Block Workbooks… my best-selling eBooks – now available in eBook and paperback format!

Every weekday I post a set of poetry prompts on poetrywritinggroup.wordpress.com and a set of story prompts on the scriptnovel and short story blogs. As you’ll see by the heading numbers, you may have missed a few but the links are listed on the relevant group’s Exercises page so you can always find them there. So here are your poetry and short story exercises…

Poetry Writing Exercises 1263: Monday 20th November

Here are your four poetry exercises for today. If you enjoy these prompts, do take a look at my online courses… six are currently half price (when using the coupon codes on my main blog’s online courses page) and another is FREE!

Time yourself for 15 minutes per exercise, having a break in between each one or move on to the next.  When you’ve finished, do pop over to this blog’s Facebook Group and let everyone know how you got on.

Below are the four – you can do them in any order.

  1. Keywords: think, lateral, Lisbon, inspire, spur
  2. Random: pick an item from today’s / the weekend’s news
  3. Picture: what does this inspire?
  4. Monologue Monday: first-person poem about a dreaded visit

Have fun, and if you would like to, do paste your writing in the comment boxes below so we can see how you got on! Remember though that it counts as being published so don’t post anything that you would want to submit elsewhere (where they require unpublished material).

See below for explanations of the prompts, they do vary…

  • Sentence starts = what it says on the tin. You can use it at the beginning of the poem or include it later, and being poetry it doesn’t have to be exact – just be inspired by it.
  • Keywords = the words have to appear in the poem but can be in any order and can be lengthened (e.g. clap to clapping).
  • Single-word prompt = sometimes all it takes is one word to spawn an idea. Sometimes it easy, sometimes hard but invariably fun.
  • Mixed bag = an object, a location, a colour.
  • Picture prompts = nothing other than a picture. What does it conjure up?
  • Title = The title for your piece.
  • Haiku poem= 5 syllables, 7 syllables, 5 syllables
  • Random = whatever takes my fancy!

Story Writing Exercises 1267: Monday 20th Nov

Here are your four story exercises for today. If you enjoy these prompts (or are looking to improve your writing or submit a manuscript), do take a look at my online courses… five are currently half price and the other two are FREE (when using coupon codes)!

Read the rest of this entry »

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 20, 2017 in ideas

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Little Church by the Sea by Liz Taylorson @BooksManatee @taylorson_liz

The Little Church by the Sea by Liz Taylorson @BooksManatee @taylorson_liz

Yay for another blog tour…

mychestnutreadingtree


Today I am delighted to welcome Liz Taylorson to the blog with a fantastic Q&A. Welcome Liz!

Tell me about your journey to publication…

I’ve always loved writing, and when I gave up my career working in a university library to look after my children I saw it as a chance to do the one thing I had always dreamed of doing and I finally wrote MY NOVEL. I was firmly convinced it was the best novel ever written, probably up there with War and Peace, until I joined the Romantic Novelist’s Association New Writers’ Scheme (a fantastic scheme allowing novices like me to get professional critiques and advice on their work) to find that my great novel was … badly written and self indulgent! As well as not being romantic enough for romance, too romantic for women’s fiction and definitely NOT funny enough for any kind of comedy …

View original post 890 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 20, 2017 in writing

 

Little Did He Know

Ah… my favourite film… It’s rare that I find someone who’s heard of it.

The Third Eve

A month after my husband’s death, I wrote that I had discovered the substance of my faith and “found out what’s true for me.” This morning I smiled wryly as I re-read what I wrote then, because I don’t know a damn thing today.

“Little Did He Know . . .”

What I thought I knew then and what I think I know now call to mind a scene in one of my favorite films, Stranger Than Fiction. In this delightful movie about one man’s growth of consciousness, IRS auditor Harold Crick suddenly finds himself the subject of a narration only he can hear. One morning as Harold waits for the bus, things take a grim turn when the narrator foretells Harold’s imminent death.

Alarmed, Harold consults a psychiatrist who tells him he has schizophrenia. He counters by asking what she would advise if he did not have schizophrenia…

View original post 758 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 17, 2017 in writing