The Parcel Project 2015

colourful-gifts 909705 (resized 2 - small)‘The Parcel’ is an eighteen-chapter 26,000-word collaborative novella (free) eBook written by attendees of the 2015 winter-term ‘Creative Writing – Intermediate’ ten-week class hosted by co-contributor Morgen Bailey.

The authors wrote their chapters while knowing only the size, weight and destination address of the parcel, together with the chapters’ starting and ending locations – chosen by the authors themselves (some of whom have other books available here on Smashwords). They could choose their own characters – the lead of which entitle each chapter – and plot.

Morgen then collated the stories and made minor edits to turn each chapter into a cohesive novella before designing the cover and upload the finished package between weeks nine and ten of the course so all the contributing attendees left the course as published authors!

It is now available (free!) on Smashwords and will soon be available on iTunes, Kobo, Barnes & Noble, Scribd, Oyster, OverDrive (which Smashwords describes as the world’s largest library ebook platform serving 20,000+ libraries), Baker & Taylor, Gardners Books, and Inktera (formerly called Page Foundry).

It is available for free, and all the authors hope that you enjoy reading this novella and that it feels seamless to you.

We would love to know what you think and invite you to email Morgen at who will pass your comments on to the relevant authors. We would also be very grateful if you left a review as an encouragement for others to read the novella.

Please do leave a comment, especially after you’ve read the novella and hopefully before too long you’ll be able to read those left by other visitors. Thank you for those of you who will go off and download this eBook – your support is much appreciated. Oh, I did I mention that it’s free? 🙂

The contributing authors are (in chapter order): Morgen Bailey, Lily-Ann Harvey, Jill Morris, Doreen Setchell, Neill Maycock, Kathie Green, Liz Rich, Paula Sussex, Mandy Sampson, Alex Green, Karen Pomerantz, Ann Rumsby, Lauren Lewis and Dennis Carey.