RSS

Book & Story Reviews

Do you do book reviews and would like to share them on this blog?
(
currently booked to July 2015)
and / or
Do you have fictional short stories (individual or collection), writing guide,
or crime, humour, chick-lit novel (not pure romance)
and want it reviewed? Is it available for people to buy / download? If so, do email me.
(currently booked to December 2015)
***
PLEASE NOTE: As well as a writer, I am also an editor and because this is a writing
(as well as reading) blog, my reviews are often in-depth and look at the writing.
They don’t reveal the ending but aren’t usually brief as other reviews tend to be.

From late May 2013, Wednesdays have been dedicated to book reviews; either by guests or ones I’ve reviewed. See the end of this page for links to other reviewers.

As well as a few novels, I’ve written 400+ short stories (mostly <1,000-word flash fiction) and it’s what I read mostly so I review individual fictional short stories (any genre up to 10,000 words), fiction short story collections (any genre up to 50,000 words), writing-related ‘how to’ guides (up to 100,000 words) and chick-lit (i.e. romantic comedy) or crime novels (up to 80,000 words). I don’t review every book I’m offered so please provide the synopsis or purchase link which shows the synopsis. I also review audiobooks so if your novel is available as an audio file, I will consider it. You can email me at morgen@morgenbailey.com.

YOUR BOOK: Guidelines for short stories / story collections or ‘how to’ writing guide or novel on audiobook considered for review:

  • Your book title, genre, synopsis and purchase link(s) for the book (full links please, no short links such as tiny.url etc).
  • Short third-person biography for yourself / your writing.
  • Your name and website address(es) – again full links only please.
  • All the above text in one document please, not embedded into an email.
  • Your Kindle-compatible (.mobi file) story (<10,000 words), collection (<50,000 words), writing guide (<80,000 words) or crime / chick lit novel (<80,000 words), in .mobi format only please. I can accept Word documents but pdfs don’t narrate on my Kindle which is how I listen to them.
  • Book cover, ideally .jpg format and small file size, c.200×300 pixels, max 500kb size and optional photographs of yourself and your books as separate email attachments, not embedded in the document text.
  • Email the above (in one email please) to me at morgen@morgenbailey.com.
  • Please note that I only review one guest book a month (the first Wednesday) so there may well be a long delay getting to your book. Sorry but it’s a free service so other (paying) work has to take priority.

ANOTHER AUTHOR’S BOOK: Guidelines for guest book review (of another author’s book, of any genre):

  • The book title, author name/s, genre, synopsis and purchase links (.co.uk / .com) for the book you are reviewing.
  • 500-word+ first-person review of a book of any genre, without spoilers wherever possible (if there are spoilers, your review should put a spoiler alert at the beginning).
  • Please be as constructive as possible, say why the book does / doesn’t work and make it comprehensive so at least 500 words.
  • Star rating (out of 5).
  • Short third-person biography for yourself / your writing.
  • Your name, website address, titles of your book(s) and purchase link(s).
  • All the above text in one document please, not embedded into an email.
  • Photograph of the book cover you are reviewing as well as optional photographs of yourself and your books, if you have any, (ideally .jpg format and small file size, c.200×300 pixels, max 200kb size) as separate email attachments please, not embedded in the document text.
  • Email the above to me at morgen@morgenbailey.com.
  • All content has to be family-friendly please so no strong language or violence.

I also welcome short story collections (or individual short stories up to 10,000 words) in eBook format (ideally Kindle mobi but I can accept pdfs) for review once a fortnight… by me! Feel free to email me your book and / or link with voucher code, but I do need plenty of notice as I get booked up months in advance. I will review every collection I am sent – note: I don’t review novels, poetry or scripts – but please be patient.

I will add the books I have received to the schedule below so you’ll have an idea of existing lead times and when your review will appear. Your book must be available for readers of the review to buy (or download for free) when the review goes live. NB. I won’t give a glowing review unless it really is a good book. Like my freelance editing & critique, I’m firm but fair.

Below are the books / stories reviewed to-date and scheduled…

Posted

Scheduled (the dates may change if I don’t receive guest reviews to fill the gaps, or they may be filled with the other books / stories listed underneath the schedule):

  • 115: I shall review Lynda La Plante‘s crime novel Cold Shoulder – (Wednesday 27th May).
  • 116: I shall review Phillip Frey‘s crime thriller novel Dangerous Times – (Wednesday 3rd June).
  • 117: I shall review La Belle Femme, a short story by Aine Greaney – (Wednesday 10th June).
  • 118: I shall review According to Adam (the follow-up to the collection I reviewed March 2014 and July 2014) from The Writer’s Drawer – (Wednesday 17th June).
  • 119: I shall review The Demeter Code by Russell Brooks – (Wednesday 24th June).
  • 120: I shall review Paperchase & Other Stories by Helen Yendall – (Wednesday 1st July).
  • 121: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Val McDermid‘s The Mermaids Singing (Wednesday 8th July).
  • 122: I shall review Deep Deceit by Anne O’Connell – (Wednesday 15th July).
  • 123: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Summery Daydreams by Carole Matthews – (Wednesday 22nd July).
  • 124: I shall review Fiona Glass‘ crime novella Necessity’s Door – (Wednesday 29th July).
  • 125: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Flights of Nancy and Wedding Hells, two short stories by Jennifer Gilby Roberts – (Wednesday 5th August).
  • 126: I shall review John Yeoman‘s fictorial historical novel Dream of Darkness – (Wednesday 12th August).
  • 127: I shall review Jane Wenham-Jones‘ short story collection Cat Tales for Cat Lovers – (Wednesday 19th August) my birthday :)
  • 128: I shall review of Chris Nickson‘s 1950’s British noir mystery novel Dark Briggate Blues – (Wednesday 26th August).
  • 129: I shall review The Rainbow Murders by Chris Coad Taylor – (Wednesday 2nd September).
  • 130: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Money & Murder, A Matt Kile Mystery by David Bishop – (Wednesday 9th September).
  • 131: I shall review StoryWorks by Jane Bailey Bain – (Wednesday 16th September).
  • 132: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Home to Pebble Creek, a short story by Vannetta Chapman – (Wednesday 23rd September).
  • 133: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Iain Bank‘s novel Crow Road – (Wednesday 30th September).
  • 134: I shall review Paul Gitsham‘s books, details t.b.a. – (Wednesday 7th October).
  • 135: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Eight the Hard Way anthology – (Wednesday 14th October).
  • 136: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Open Door Invitation, a short story by Dee Carney – (Wednesday 21st October).
  • 137: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review House of Justice, a Halloween horror short story by Vincent Bivona – (Wednesday 28th October).
  • 138: I shall review Tea & Comfort by Andrea Hurst – (Wednesday 4th November).
  • 139: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Guest of Honor, a crime mystery novelette by Mark S. R. Peterson – (Wednesday 11th November).
  • 140: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review A Twisted Bard’s Tale, a short story by Selena Kitt – (Wednesday 18th November).
  • 141: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Perfect Cover, a short story by Mark McGinn – (Wednesday 25th November).
  • 142: I shall post one of my reviews here. Do email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed – (Wednesday 2nd December).
  • 143: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review The Plane Trip, a short story by Roy A Teel Jr. – (Wednesday 9th December).
  • 144: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review A Very Coco Christmas, a short story by Robert Bryndza – (Wednesday 16th December).
  • 145: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review An Avalon Christmas, a short story collection by Darien Gee – (Wednesday 23rd December).
  • 146: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review The Page, a suspense novel by M. Jonathan  – (Wednesday 30th December).
  • 147: I shall be posting one of my reviews here. Do email me if you’d like your celebratory or ‘new’ themed eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed – (Wednesday 6th January 2016).
  • 148. you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Cat Call and Haunted Love, short stories by Cynthia Leitich Smith – (Wednesday 13th January).
  • 149: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review one of Robert Galbraith‘s (JK Rowling’s) crime novels, either ‘Cuckoo Calling’ or ‘The Silkworm’ (whom I met in July 2014 at the the Theakston’s Old Peculier Crime Writing weekend) – (Wednesday 20th January).
  • 150: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Lust and Honor by Harriet Schultz – (Wednesday 27th January).
  • 151: I shall be posting one of my reviews here. Do email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed – (Wednesday 3rd February).
  • 152: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Truman Capote‘s Breakfast at Tiffany’s & Other Stories – (Wednesday 10th February).
  • 153: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Cupid on the Loose, a Valentine’s Day collection – (Wednesday 17th February).
  • 154: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review The Jan-ken, Japanese short fiction by Larry Knipfing – (Wednesday 24th February).
  • 155: I shall be posting one of my reviews here. Do email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed – (Wednesday 2nd March).
  • 156: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Burn District, a sci-fi contemporary women’s political thriller short story by Suzanne Jenkins – (Wednesday 9th March).
  • 157: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review The Bone Knife by Intisar Khanani – (Wednesday 16th March).
  • 158: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Inspector Zhang Gets His Wish by Stephen Leather – (Wednesday 23rd March).
  • 159: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Language Lessons, a short story by Jay Bell – (Wednesday 30th March).
  • 160: I shall be posting one of my reviews here. Do email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed – (Wednesday 6th April).
  • 161: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Val McDermid‘s Killing the Shadows – (Wednesday 13th April).
  • 162: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review Murder on the Page by Kennedy Chase. – (Wednesday 20th April).
  • 163: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall review The DCI Jones Casebook – Raymond Collins by Kerry J Donovan – (Wednesday 27th April).
  • 164: I shall be posting one of my reviews here. Do email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed – (Wednesday 4th May).
  • 165: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing Lightning Strikes, a short story by Josie Riviera – (Wednesday 11th May).
  • 166: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing Agatha Christie‘s The Problem at Sea and other stories – (Wednesday 18th May)
  • 167: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story, novel or writing guide of my choice – (Wednesday 25th May).
  • 168: I shall be posting one of my reviews here. Do email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed – (Wednesday 1st June).
  • 169: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story, novel or writing guide of my choice – (Wednesday 8th June).
  • 170: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story, novel or writing guide of my choice – (Wednesday 15th June).
  • 171: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story, novel or writing guide of my choice – (Wednesday 22nd June).
  • 172: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story, novel or writing guide of my choice – (Wednesday 29th June).
  • 173: I shall be posting one of my reviews here. Do email me if you’d like your eBook short story collection / individual short story, writing guide or crime novel reviewed – (Wednesday 6th July).
  • 174: you could have your review (of another author’s book) listed here or I shall be reviewing a short story, novel or writing guide of my choice – (Wednesday 13th July).
  • and so on…

Below are books (mostly eBook freebies) of my choosing to be read and reviewed (in no particular date / reading order). Some are not the genres that I would normally read but that’s the whole point of reviewing, and I won’t let that effect my opinion. Swap the links below for .co.uk, .com or wherever you live, wherever appropriately:

***

Are you looking for your book to be reviewed?

I only review short stories, writing guides and contemporary women’s / crime novels but list below some who review those and other formats. If you’re a reviewer it maybe worth seeing if they need more reviews (and if you’d be interested in reviewing my eBooks, do email me).

  • click here for reviewers of more than one genre
  • click here for reviewers of children’s books
  • click here for crime reviewers
  • click here for fantasy, horror, sci-fi genres reviewers
  • click here for flash fiction reviewers
  • click here for non-fiction reviewers
  • click here for reviewers of poetry
  • …pages for reviewers of other genres to follow

 

 

12 responses to “Book & Story Reviews

  1. Julia Hughes

    May 19, 2013 at 6:59 pm

    Hi Morgen:) I adore reviewing, and have some deserve a wider audience! Will email you,
    Julia x

     
    • morgenbailey

      May 19, 2013 at 10:27 pm

      Excellent! Thanks, Julia. I look forward to reading, and sharing, them.

       
  2. jennyworstall

    May 31, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    Great idea, Morgen. Lovely to have another place to put reviews.

     
    • morgenbailey

      May 31, 2013 at 9:15 pm

      Thank you, Jenny. I look forward to posting them.

       
  3. tadwojnicki

    June 14, 2013 at 8:42 am

    Morgen, that’s a great idea! I’d love to review other writers’ books,,, I’ve been given so much love and attention from unsolicited reviewers over the years that it’s only fitting that I give some of it back!

     
    • morgenbailey

      June 14, 2013 at 9:07 am

      Thank you, Tad. I look forward to reading them.

       
  4. Elizabeth

    August 31, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    Nice idea. I will get back to you if I decide to put my reviews on your site.

    Have a great weekend.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

     
    • morgenbailey

      August 31, 2013 at 4:07 pm

      Thanks, Elizabeth, and you. NB. I don’t need (or really want) exclusivity.

       
  5. gvb1210mine

    May 19, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    /*
    Hello Ms. Bailey:
    Your message is greatly appreciated. I am aware that your time is valuable and short. I will make this quick and email you data and particulars concerning a possible review.
    Peace…
    Gregory V. Boulware, Author of ‘FAIRMOUNT’ and a view other items of interest.
    http://www.BoulwareEnterprises.comhttp://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_gnr_fkmr0?rh=i%3Astripbooks%2Cn%3A283155%2Ck3AGregory+V.+Boulware&keywords=Gregory+V.+Boulware&ie=UTF8&qid=1324957155
    */

     

I'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,925 other followers

%d bloggers like this: