RSS

Category Archives: writing

Self Publishing Part 8: The Wisdom of Fonts – 10 book typefaces that can’t go wrong

Self Publishing Part 8: The Wisdom of Fonts – 10 book typefaces that can’t go wrong

Interesting stuff…

Fiction et al

Typographic AnatomyClick to enlargeWhat makes up a Typeface?
Sourced from the Bold & Justified Infographic at www.fontfeed.com

A typical book has between 25,000 and 100,000 words. They are the feature of the book that readers interact with the most, spending hours poring over them. But when was the last time you read a book and thought “Wow, that plot twist at the end blew me away and the font choice of 11pt Baskerville Old Face was a masterful touch!”

The fact is that, despite all the close scrutiny that the body text of a book receives, most readers fail to notice the careful design choices made by the publisher at all—and that is how it should be. Imagine listening to a long speech by a man who constantly waves one hand around wildly as he talks, or a woman who speaks so quietly you have to strain to hear…

View original post 1,414 more words

Advertisements
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 21, 2017 in writing

 

Blog Tour – Lay Me to Rest by E.A. Clark Rachel’s Random Reads

Ah… another beloved blog tour.

Rachel Dove - Author

Delighted to have a fellow HQ author on the blog today!

Lay Me To Rest Tour Schedule[2653].jpgLay Me To Rest
Some secrets never stay buried for long…
Devastated by the death of her husband, Annie Philips is shocked to discover she is pregnant with his unborn child. Hoping for a fresh start, she travels to a remote stone cottage in Anglesey, amidst the white-capped mountains of North Wales.
She settles in quickly, helped by her mysterious new neighbour, Peter. But everything changes when Annie discovers a small wooden box, inlaid with brass and mother-of-pearl. A box she was never supposed to find…
Annie soon realises that she isn’t alone in the cottage. And now she’s trapped. Can she escape the nightmare that she has awoken, or will the dark forces surrounding the house claim her life – and that of her baby?
A gripping thriller from E. A. Clark, perfect for fans of Kerri Wilkinson…

View original post 282 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 21, 2017 in writing

 

The 365-day Writer’s Block Workbook Volume 2 is free today!

The second volume of this writer’s guide series – my best selling series – is free today, Tuesday 21st November!

Packed with 1,000 sets of keywords, spread three a day for a year, this volume also has a tip at the end of each week.

You can download the eBook for free (today only) via http://mybook.to/365WBWBVol2 (which links to the Amazon store in your country).

The first week, as an example, is below…

Read the rest of this entry »

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Little Church by the Sea by Liz Taylorson @BooksManatee @taylorson_liz

The Little Church by the Sea by Liz Taylorson @BooksManatee @taylorson_liz

Yay for another blog tour…

mychestnutreadingtree


Today I am delighted to welcome Liz Taylorson to the blog with a fantastic Q&A. Welcome Liz!

Tell me about your journey to publication…

I’ve always loved writing, and when I gave up my career working in a university library to look after my children I saw it as a chance to do the one thing I had always dreamed of doing and I finally wrote MY NOVEL. I was firmly convinced it was the best novel ever written, probably up there with War and Peace, until I joined the Romantic Novelist’s Association New Writers’ Scheme (a fantastic scheme allowing novices like me to get professional critiques and advice on their work) to find that my great novel was … badly written and self indulgent! As well as not being romantic enough for romance, too romantic for women’s fiction and definitely NOT funny enough for any kind of comedy …

View original post 890 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 20, 2017 in writing

 

Little Did He Know

Ah… my favourite film… It’s rare that I find someone who’s heard of it.

The Third Eve

A month after my husband’s death, I wrote that I had discovered the substance of my faith and “found out what’s true for me.” This morning I smiled wryly as I re-read what I wrote then, because I don’t know a damn thing today.

“Little Did He Know . . .”

What I thought I knew then and what I think I know now call to mind a scene in one of my favorite films, Stranger Than Fiction. In this delightful movie about one man’s growth of consciousness, IRS auditor Harold Crick suddenly finds himself the subject of a narration only he can hear. One morning as Harold waits for the bus, things take a grim turn when the narrator foretells Harold’s imminent death.

Alarmed, Harold consults a psychiatrist who tells him he has schizophrenia. He counters by asking what she would advise if he did not have schizophrenia…

View original post 758 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 17, 2017 in writing

 

Welsh Wednesdays: Introducing the authors and readers of the Llandeilo Christmas Book Fair: Jacqueline Jeynes and “Walking Wales: The Art Lovers Guide to the Wye Valley Way”

For lovers of all things Welsh…

writerchristophfischer

This year’s Christmas Book Fair will be just like a Mini-Literature-Festival all over Llandeilo. 
It gives me great pleasure  to introduce one of our authors and speakers (12:00 at the Fountain Fine Art Gallery)

Travel writer Dr Jacqueline Jaynes

On the day of our Book Fair, Sat Dec 9th, you will be able to find Jacqueline in the Horeb Chapel and at noon she’ll be talking in the Fountain Fine ArtGallery about her book “Walking Wales: The Art Lovers Guide to the Wye Valley Way”. This is a wonderful book about images about places along the route from the National Library of Wales digital collections, ranging from 18th-20th century with well-known artists including Turner and David Cox.

Reviews: Art lovers guide to the Wye Valley 

What an ambitious undertaking, walking so far in such a short time and facing the best and worst that Welsh weather can provide and the odd bull!…

View original post 798 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 17, 2017 in writing

 

The Secret Life of Alfred Nightingale by Rebecca Stonehill book review

The Secret Life of Alfred Nightingale by Rebecca Stonehill book review

For those who love history… I’m a 1960s baby. 🙂

kraftireader

the secret life of alfred nightingale

The Secret Life of Alfred Nightingale written and published by Rebecca Stonehill is available NOW in ebook and paperback format.

To buy link:  http://amzn.to/2zFC5xi

Product Details (as per amazon page)

A compelling page turner of a buried past resurfacing, set against a backdrop of the 1960’s youth culture and war torn Crete.

1967. Handsome but troubled, Jim is almost 18 and he lives and breathes girls, trad jazz, Eel Pie Island and his best friend, Charles. One night, he hears rumours of a community of young people living in caves in Matala, Crete. Determined to escape his odious, bully of a father and repressed mother, Jim hitchhikes through Europe down to Matala. At first, it’s the paradise he dreamt it would be. But as things start to go wrong and his very notion of self unravels, the last thing Jim expects is for this journey of hundreds of miles to…

View original post 440 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 15, 2017 in writing