Bailey’s Writing Tips short stories ep.014

Bailey’s Writing Tips podcast ‘short stories’ episode number 14 was released today. This is a monthly series tucked in between hints & tips or red pen critique sessions.

With the occasional exception, these are the flash fictions that have appeared on my blog as ‘Flash Fiction Fridays’, reading out three per fortnight. Today’s are Her reflection calls her Tess (925 words) by Kimberly Gray, The Picture (418 words) by Will Macmillan-Jones and Sacrament (831 words) by Travis Eaton.

I don’t critique them but simply reading them out and I hope you enjoy this format.

The podcast is available via iTunesGoogle’s FeedburnerPodbean (when it catches up), Podcasters (which takes even longer) or Podcast Alley (which doesn’t list the episodes but will let you subscribe).

***

Kimberly possesses such a strong desire to reach people.  To reach them in a capacity people will trust she is sincere.  That brought on the donation of time she spends donating much of her writing to charity and the time consuming column of dear addict. Quite insecure about the quality of her work, she finds it is improving so much over the years the awards were well-deserved. It is not easy for her and at times, mental illness can take over and not allow her to write.  She always says it is the mental illness that gifts her with the imagination to be able to write. She certainly is determined and has much fun working hard, regardless of the task. Still loving being the best pillow fighter, holding the best title for champion, 3 years running now.

She can be found at (are you sitting comfortably?)… Sunnie Day’s feature, Kimberlyslyrics, Smashwords, Prey, Dear addict, lyricsingray, Hubbie, Top 200, 800 days 1st feature, 2nd feature, one of four blogs, SligoBay and bbnix. She can also be reached via email: lyrics@rogers.com and I’ll put all the links on this episode’s page on my blog (I’ll give the details for that after these biographies).

***

Will is a fifty-something lover of blues, rock and jazz.

He presently lives in South Wales, and has just fulfilled a lifetime ambition by extending his bookcases to fill one entire wall of his home office.

Working as a professional tax consultant, he writes to escape the stultifying boredom of his job.

He has an irregular blog, www.willmacmillanjones.wordpress.com where he “rambles incoherently about writing” and he can also be found at www.thebannedunderground.weebly.com and his publisher’s website is www.safkhetpublishing.com.

***

Travis is a 33 year old living in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia. He is currently studying Professional Writing & Editing at TAFE which he says is “the poorer equivalent to University”. Sounds good to me. His blog is http://traviseaton.wordpress.com.

***

That’s it for this week. Thank you for listening to this new short story episode. I hope you enjoy it and I look forward to bringing you another in a month. In the meantime, the next episode will be either a red pen critique or hints and tips. All the links mentioned in these shows are listed on the podcast short stories page of this blog.

You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything… and follow me on Twitter where each new posting is automatically announced. You can also read / download my eBooks and free eShorts at SmashwordsSony Reader StoreBarnes & NobleiTunes BookstoreKobo and Amazon, with more to follow. I have a new forum, friend me on Facebook, like me on Facebook, connect with me on LinkedIn, find me on Tumblr, complete my website’s Contact me page or plain and simple, email me.  I also now have a new blog creation service especially for, but not limited to, writers.

Unfortunately, as I post an interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t review books but I have a feature called ‘Short Story Saturdays’ where I review stories of up to 2,500 words. Alternatively if you have a short story or self-contained novel extract / short chapter (ideally up to 1000 words) that you’d like critiqued and don’t mind me reading it / talking about and critiquing it (I send you the transcription afterwards so you can use the comments or ignore them) 🙂 on this podcast, then do email me. They are fortnightly episodes, usually released on Sundays, interweaving the recordings between the red pen sessions with the hints & tips episodes. I am now also looking for flash fiction (<1000 words) for Flash Fiction Fridays and poetry for Post-weekend Poetry.

8 thoughts on “Bailey’s Writing Tips short stories ep.014

    • morgenbailey says:

      We all have to start somewhere (I’ve been writing for seven years) but if I hadn’t liked the story I wouldn’t have posted it. 🙂

      There’s nothing quite like hearing (or reading) your work out loud to hear where you’re going ‘wrong’. It happens to everyone.

      I look forward to hearing your next one. 🙂

      Like

  1. kimberlyswritings says:

    Morgen with an e, thank you ever so much, it’s faulous to hear my writing spoken and so much more given your professional touch and sedating or soothing accent. I’m smiling ear to ear

    Cheers girl with an i

    Kimberly

    Like

  2. Judy Harper says:

    Gail M Baugniet linked you on her week #7 of “The Next Big Thing” & tripple 7 challenge, as an awesome writers/blog site to visit. I’m going to need to absorb what you do, there’s so much information! Interesting interviews and comments.

    Like

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.