Post-weekend Poetry 106: Lucky by Mark Morris

Welcome to Post-weekend Poetry and the one hundred and sixth poem in this series. This week’s piece, continuing last week’s unlucky theme, is by poet and short story author Mark Morris.

Lucky

My rabbit’s foot has broken, I think,
Though it didn’t serve the bunny well
’Cause a burrow-dweller equipped with four of them
Still managed to bid its life farewell.

Then I dug away at the rainbow’s end,
Finding there nothing but mud.
And the wishing well, into it I fell
Coming up wet and covered in blood.

My lucky horseshoe is exhausted too
And I’ve got comprehensive proof,
For the time I first took possession of it
The horse kicked me with its hoof.

So I’m giving up on superstitious things,
Throwing away my last lucky bean,
Stepping onto every crack on the footpath,
And moving house into number thirteen.

*

I asked Mark what prompted this piece and he said…

I was channeling a country song or maybe a comedy song from the 70s – think Junior Choice with Ed (Stewpot) Stewart, but not that Terry Scot song! It’s a fun poem and that is pretty much how I like to see things. And I’ve definitely never grown up since the 1970s.

**

I loved it (I was a big Crackerjack fan). Thank you, Mark. Now please tell us a little about yourself…

Mark Morris avatarI’m a mature Englishman and I’ve always wanted to be a writer. I’ve a passion for writing science fiction and fantasy and I’m never happier than when I’m sitting behind a keyboard creating a completely different world or an alternative reality for my characters to reside in. I like to think that I’m quite versatile though and believe that I’m equally able writing in a number of genres, ranging from romantic literature through to tough ‘mens” thrillers, also including the dystopian genres now popular with Young Adult writers.

Lately, I’ve begun to feel a disturbing draw toward poetry. Whatever next?

You can find out more about Mark and his writing on http://twothirdsrasta.blogspot.co.uk.

***

If you’d like to submit your poem (60 lines max) for consideration for Post-weekend Poetry take a look here or a poem for critique on the Online Poetry Writing Group (link below).

Related articles:

** NEW!! You can now subscribe to this blog on your Kindle / Kindle app via Amazon.co.uk or Amazon.com **

Cover montage 2You can sign up to receive these blog posts daily or weekly so you don’t miss anything. You can contact me and find me on the internetview my Books (including my debut novel The Serial Dater’s Shopping List, various short story collections and writer’s block workbooks) and I also have a blog creation / maintenance service especially for, but not limited to, writers. If you like this blog, you can help me keep it running by donating and choose an optional free eBook.

For writers / readers willing to give feedback and / or writers wanting feedback, take a look at this blog’s Feedback page.

As I post a spotlight or interview a day (amongst other things) I can’t unfortunately review books but I have a list of those who do. If there’s anything you’d like to take part in, take a look at Opportunities on this blog.

I welcome items for critique directly (see Editing & Critique) or for posting on the online writing groups listed below:

Morgen’s Online Non-Fiction Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Novel Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Poetry Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Script Writing Group

Morgen’s Online Short Story Writing Group

We look forward to reading your comments.

3 thoughts on “Post-weekend Poetry 106: Lucky by Mark Morris

  1. Mark Morris says:

    Thank you very much for your kind comments, marcoujor. I love nonsense. I think we all need to do whatever we can to enjoy a little more fun in these harsh times, so we should all try to introduce a bit of daftness and sillyness into our day-to-day lives. 🙂

    Like

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.