7 thoughts on “Author interview no.25 with multi-genre writer Charles Weinblatt

  1. The Writer Gal says:

    I met Mr. Weinblatt in a Linked In chat on writing, and he has never ceased to amaze me with his talent and his wit! We became fast friends, and he’s also been a great mentor for me as well. But, I cherish the kindred-spirit I’ve found in my friend. And, you’ve managed to capture that spirit in this interview with him. No matter what, Chuck has always been upbeat, pleasant, and a joy to chat and share experiences with. This is a wonderful interview! I learned a lot, so from one writer to another…thank you for asking all the “right” questions!

    Like

  2. Stephen Shooster says:

    Tasked to also write a Holocaust survivor’s story I did the work in first person, even though I obviously was not there. I just took the interviews from the survivor and recanted them as if I were him.

    Deep into the exercise I started to stumble upon Holocaust literary criticism wondering where my own work would be on that scale. When it hit me like a rock that writing the truth about the Holocaust is nearly impossible. The people are still tortured mentally to this day, writing skills are limited and memories fade.

    But the one thing that was like a whack on the head was early, right after the war, someone wrote a Holocaust fiction without clarifying the ‘fiction’ aspect. It was quickly discredited and taken off the shelves.

    Writing fiction about the Nazi Holocaust is a dangerous subject because Holocaust deniers are looking for any rip in the fabric.

    Digging deeper I learned the criticism pointed out that when a person is under duress and can’t tell the truth due to fear fiction becomes perfectly valid to share those potential feelings and fill in the void for the reader / historian. Not having yet read Jacob’s courage I would hope to find this.

    Thank you for bringing to my attention the writing of Charles Weinblatt. thinking of him laying down all day while writing set the tone right away for the interview.

    Like

  3. cweinblatt says:

    I cannot describe the joy that feel when reading such opinions. Deprived of the physical ability to sit, stand, walk, work, travel, etc., I feel like an isolated island of hope, surrounded by a shell of trepidation.
    We all want to leave behind a legacy. Yet, when age and demise draw near, one’s collection of money and possessions pale, like dark brittle leaves covered by fall’s first chilling snowfall. Instead, we seek redemption from our wasted time.

    My legacy might well be my progeny. But they have largely made a success of their own lives. My career, like a shooting star, was a momentary brilliant display, followed by the perpetual darkness of disability. So I write, because my disability precludes most other forms of endeavor. I wrote about the Holocaust, cherishing in some shadowy way the great calamity of my people and their amazing deliverance from eternal desolation. Like a great phoenix, Judaism arose from the horror of Nazi annihilation. Hardly a Jew alive cannot trace an ancestor to the debasement and calamity of the Shoah. If I could produce anything meaningful in my life as a writer, it would be this epic story of Jewish love, faith, terror and courage, surrounded by the electrified barbed wire of a Nazi death camp – and the endless march of darkness and time.

    Three years of daily research and writing were poured into this novel. Yet, I never once felt it an obligation; rather, it felt like a gift. At times, it was frighteningly like taking dictation. The words and chapters poured out from some unrecognized portion of my soul. Like verses out of rhythm, poetry out of rhyme, I struggled with this gargantuan task. Eventually, the protagonists and characters came alive in my mind, broken but not destroyed. The story emerged as if it were alive, always evolving, spinning and surviving.

    Thanks for the breathtaking comments. I am extraordinarily humbled. Though always in severe pain, I shudder with humility when reading this. Yet, my struggle pales in comparison with my ancestors who perished in the Holocaust. They are the real heroes. May their blessed memory forever remain a light upon the lives of humanity, a shining beacon of hope, desire, love, despair and determination. The spirit of their lives burns like a fire in my mind – a treasured keepsake of destruction, rebirth and the continuing renewal of a religion. Those few lives saved by the righteous among the nations have created generations of descendants to honor that flame of courage. I stand upon the shoulders of the deceased, the despaired, the survivors and the memories of forgotten lost ancestors. I am nothing. They are everything.

    Chuck

    Like

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.