11 thoughts on “Guest post: Location, Location, Location by Morgan St James

  1. Cindy Sample says:

    Hi Morgan, Great post as always. My series is set in the gold country of California where I live and I made sure to drive every route in the book so there would be no mistakes. Of course people keep trying to find the places where the bodies appear, but I thought those were venues where creative license should be used.

    Like

  2. Jacqueline Seewald says:

    Hi, Morgen and Morgan,

    I enjoyed the post and totally agree. I live in New Jersey and have set my Kim Reynolds mystery series in my own state and my own area. This lends the mystery novels authenticity. My next novel, The Third Eye, co-authored with my older son, is set in the Pine Barrens of NJ. Kirkus has already labeled the setting is “the star” of the mystery.

    Like

    • morgenbailey says:

      Hi Jacqueline. Thank you for your comment. I’ve forwarded it to Morgan.

      I’ve written seven novels (various genres) and although one (a chick lit) is based in the town I live in (and features 30+ real locations!), the rest are more vague with mention of local towns as a pinpoint on the area but the villages / towns themselves aren’t real. That way, I’m not going to get someone saying that so-and-so street is one way and they’re driving illegally!

      Like

  3. Sally Carpenter says:

    I’m late to joining the party, but good advice, Morgan. I stopped reading a book when the author described the “five story buildings” that lined the street in an area I’ve visited. That street doesn’t have any structures taller than three stories. Ouch! A little research goes a long way!

    Like

    • Morgan St. James (@MorganStJames) says:

      You are so right, Sally. I read a best selling author who had the protagonist who was in a rush to prevent a murder taking the longest possible route to a house in Woodland Hills, California. Hmm. Okay, it was before the days of GPS, but still—there were maps.

      Like

  4. TripFiction says:

    Here here! You are so right when you advocate research and more research for location, especially if it is going to be a major ‘character’ in the novel. I read a novel fairly recently that was set in Europe, but all the distances were so inaccurate (very irritating for someone who knows Europe), yet the book won several accolades! Needless to say, we love books that evoke location, so your piece was really thought-provoking. Thank you!

    Like

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.