9 thoughts on “Guest post: Evolving your marketing plan by Rachel Abbott

  1. Jane Risdon says:

    Thanks Rachel, this was very interesting and I found your journey of discovery thought provoking. I think if you look at any successful author, actor, musician or footballer even, branding is the key. Identify your market (reader) and check out what the competition is doing and see if it is successful or not and try to learn from them. Branding done correctly brings loyalty, empathy with characters and writer and the feeling of being part of a club – hence the formation of fan-clubs and author events.

    Getting it right is difficult, and today so very public. Make a wrong move (ie; pushing too hard too often as with the tweets etc) can alienate, but it also breeds familiarity. So, a difficult path to tread. Years ago a PR company or Ad agency would spend their time dreaming up campaigns for their clients, time and money seemed not to be such an issue. But times have changed and there are so many other writers out there, so many writing similar books, all with access to e-publishing and so everything is immediate. We all feel as if we are in a rush to ‘put something out there,’ because everyone else is.

    Since I have been part of Facebook and blogging I have seen authors publish endless books a year and during all that time I have continued to write mine. I don’t feel the urge to get it ‘out there,’ because everyone else is. I have not decided whether to e-publish or go via a publisher/agent and so forth. The danger is to bombard people with books and so the expectation is that there should always be another in the pipeline as soon as one is published. I wonder that this does not diminish the writer’s stock (value) and eventually lead to a bored reader or one who is fed-up waiting for the next book, or a writer unable to come up with something new and fresh time and again within a short period.

    It is a perilous road to travel. We are not experts and made of money so we have to try and make do and mend so to speak, if we go the e-publishing route, and be prepared for years in the wilderness (possibly) if we go the traditional route. And all this time we are having to keep body and soul together, and if we are publishing we have to feed the beast otherwise the beast will be off to graze pastures new. I know the number of recording artists who release a week, month and year, globally, their flame burning bright for all of one release, never to be heard of again. No end of trying to re-brand and re-launch ever really helps – get it right first. Brand loyalty and superior product always wins in the end. Good luck and thanks. Morgen, as ever, thanks and I hope I don’t drive you nuts putting my oar in.

    Like

    • Rachel Abbott says:

      Thanks for your very thoughtful response, Jane. I struggle to understand how some of these writers can publish several books a year, and I’m definitely in the camp that likes to wait with anticipation for a book that is carefully thought through. I think it’s possible to tell when people become formulaic and just have to churn something out. I’ve been advised that two books a year would be ideal, because otherwise people forget and it makes each book equally difficult to sell – but it takes me at least three months to sort out the intricate details of a plot, define all the characters and get a fixed idea of the locations.

      So, I think that one a year might remain my maximum – especially with all the promotion that is still required.

      Like

  2. Patricia Gligor says:

    Rachel, what a great post on marketing! I have two novels out and I’m working on the third for my Malone mystery series.
    I had to laugh when I read what you wrote about posting every 15 minutes on Twitter. This past weekend, my publisher ran “Mixed Messages,” my first novel for free on Kindle. The response was fantastic. I believe that my tweets almost every hour made the difference.

    Like

  3. morgenbailey says:

    Hello Jane, Patricia. Thank you for your great comments. I have used Tweet Deck to schedule posts (reminders of back guest items) every 15 minutes. It did garner some traffic / comments / likes so definitely worth it and it doesn’t take long to set up a days’ worth of tweets then it just does it itself. I should do a guest post on that. 🙂

    Like

  4. Rachel Abbott says:

    Interesting about the tweets. Both of my books are on special promotion on Amazon – starting today – and so I’ve just decided that ignore the brand for a couple of days, and get the tweeting going! I schedule them all into SocialOomph. In this piece of software (which is actually quite expensive!) it’s possible to create different queues of tweets, and set them with different timings. For example, I have one queue that relates to guest posts – like this one. I write the tweet and store it, and then add it to a queue of other similar posts. I set the timings – maybe one post every couple of days on this subject – and tell it to add tweets back to the end of the queue once they’ve been posted.

    I’m just about to set up a separate queue for the Amazon Promotion of my books – because I can just turn that stream off when the promotion is over.

    So the tweeting may be a bit more sales than brand for the next week or so – we’ll see what happens!

    Like

  5. David Erickson says:

    Interesting article. The problem for me (and I’m sure about so many other authors) is that I’m not market savvy. Nothing about marketing is easy, but I can’t afford to have someone else do it for me. So, not only do I have to continue improving my product, but I have to learn print formatting, how best to use social media and all the other marketing avenues available. Too many hats.

    Like

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.