3 thoughts on “Author interview no.158 with crime novelist Stephen Booth

  1. Yvonne Hertzberger says:

    I found it interesting that as a crime writer you do not plot out all the steps but let things grow organically.. As a writer of Fantasy that does not seem so important but I like that it works for you so well. Shows there is no ‘right’ way to write.

    Like

  2. Stephen Booth (@stephenbooth) says:

    Thanks, Yvonne. Yes, every writer has a different approach. For me, the characters have to be given their freedom rather than being shoehorned into a plot. I still don’t entirely understand how things come together at the end of one of my novels without me planning it. But I’m writing about police detectives, so I suppose it’s their job to go out and solve the mystery, not mine – I’m only the author!

    Like

We'd love you to leave a comment, thank you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.